Seven Wonders of the Modern World

As a tribute to modern society’s ability to achieve the unachievable, reach unreachable heights, and scorn the notion of “it can’t be done,” in 1994 the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) sought nominations from across the globe for the Seven Wonders of the Modern World.

Founded in 1852, the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) represents more than 140,000 members of the civil engineering profession worldwide.

The chosen projects pay tribute to the greatest civil engineering achievements of the 20th century.

The Seven Wonders of the Modern World:


A list of the Seven wonders of the modern world complied by the American Society of Civil Engineers:


Seven Wonders Start Finished Details
Channel Tunnel 1987 1994 Tunnel between England and France
CN Tower 1973 1976 Toronto, Canada. Tallest freestanding structure in the world
Empire State Building 1930 1931 New York, USA. First building with over 100 levels
Golden Gate Bridge 1933 1937 San Francisco,  USA.
Itaipu Dam 1970 1984 Dam between between Brazil and Paraguay.
Delta Works 1920 1997 A series of dams, locks etc., to shorten the Dutch coastline.
Panama Canal 1880 1914 Canal and Locks between Pacific and Atlantic

59.1 - 839,646
Scroll down for Comments
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x