British Isles, British Islands, Great Britain, United Kingdom

These Adverts help to pay for this site. ai2

What are the differences between British Isles, British Islands, Great Britain and United Kingdom?..

Great Britain consists of the countries: England, Wales and Scotland.

These Adverts help to pay for this site ai6.

The United Kingdom [UK] consists of Great Britain (as above) plus Northern Ireland.

The British Isles consist of the islands of Great Britain, Ireland, the Isle of Man, the Hebrides and over six thousand smaller isles. (Ireland may not be happy with this term). It’s first use was recorded by the Oxford English Dictionary in 1577 as “Brytish Iles”.

British Islands: Section 5 of the Interpretation Act 1978 stated that the British Islands means the United Kingdom, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man.

The Isle of Man is NOT part of the UK, and neither are the Channel Islands, or Ireland, of course.

Ireland: Complex politics or simple geography: Is Ireland part of the British Isles?

Agoda HolidaysAgoda HolidaysThese Adverts help to pay for this site. ai5

The British Isles is not an officially recognised term in any legal or inter-governmental sense. It is without any official status. The Government, including the Department of Foreign Affairs, does not use this term.

30.1 - 571,103
Scroll down for Comments
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments