US Ban on UK and Ireland.

The United States has expanded its travel restrictions from Europe to include the United Kingdom and Ireland.

This is designed to slow the spread of coronavirus, following the increase in Covid-9 rates in the UK.

The ban on non-US nationals entering the US from Britain or Ireland will begin at midnight on Monday, the 16th March 2020.

The UK was excluded from the earlier ban on those travelling from the Schengen Zone, as the UK is not part of the borderless Schengen zone and because Trump had stated that the UK’s very strong border system had helped keep the spread of the virus low.

Trump had said: “They don’t have very much infection at this point, and hopefully they’ll keep it that way.

However, the latest virus count has changed this.

  • UK had 10 deaths on the 13th March 2020
  • UK had 21 deaths on the 15th March 2020

The US initially closed the border to those in the borderless Schengen zone, as a virus can spread very easily in a borderless zone.  The Schengen zone had about 1,200 deaths from about 30,000 cases, by 13th March 2020.

Deaths and Infections 13th March 2020

Italy 1,016 deaths, 15,113 cases.
Spain 120 deaths, 4,209 cases.
Germany 7 deaths, 3,117 cases.
France 61 deaths, 2,876 cases.

Deaths and Infections 15th March 2020

Italy 1,441 deaths, 21,557 cases.
Spain 196 deaths, 6,391 cases.
Germany 9 deaths, 4,599 cases.
France 91 deaths, 4,469 cases.

The UK and Ireland are now in that ban, due to their own increased cases.
UK 21 deaths, 1,140 cases.

Figures at 15 March 2020 02:38 GMT

113.1 - 831,825
Scroll down for Comments
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x