European Union and UK Brief History

A Brief History of the European Union and Britain..

1951 The European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was formed
1957 France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg formed the European Economic Community. (EEC – The Common Market)
1961 The United Kingdom made its first application to join this European Community but was vetoed in 1963 and 1967 by the French Government
1973 Britain eventually joined the 6 country EEC group. (The Common Market)
1973 Denmark and Ireland also joined the EEC
1975 British voted with 67% in favour of continued membership of the 9 country EEC.
1986 The EEC grew to 12 countries
1987 The Single European Act was signed. This was to create an internal market; “an area without frontiers in which the free movement of goods and persons, services and capital is ensured.”
1993 The European Economic Community (EEC) was renamed the European Communities (EC)
1993 The European Economic Community (EEC) became the European Union (EU)
1995 The EU grew to 15 countries
2004 The EU grew to 25 countries
2007 The EU grew to 26 countries
2009 the European Community (EC) was dissolved.
2013 The EU grew to 28 countries
2016 The UK population voted to leave the 28 Country EU group

52.1 - 828,452
Scroll down for Comments
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x